Today we drove to
Greenough, a historic 19th-century farming settlement located on the
Greenough Flats. Renowned for its remarkably preserved
limestone colonial buildings, iconic horizontally-growing leaning trees, and rich local
heritage, it operates as an open-air museum managed by the National Trust.
We started at the
Greenough Museum & Gardens - This is more than a traditional museum! It is an inter-active museum set in a 19th century
homestead surrounded by beautiful gardens. With what could be Australia's oldest leaning gum tree. Dating back to 1862 and built by convicts. From the fates of convicts to the fortunes of entrepreneurs.
![Greenough Museum]()
Greenough Museum
![Greenough Museum 2]()
Greenough Museum 2
![Greenough Museum 3]()
Greenough Museum 3
![Mystic Mending Tape]()
Mystic Mending Tape
![Greenough Museum 4]()
Greenough Museum 4
![Greenough Museum 5]()
Greenough Museum 5
![Greenough Museum 6]()
Greenough Museum 6
![Greenough Museum 7]()
Greenough Museum 7
![Greenough Museum 8]()
Greenough Museum 8
![Tropical Hibiscus]()
Tropical Hibiscus
![Madagascar Butterfly Bush]()
Madagascar Butterfly Bush
![Purple Coral Pea]()
Purple Coral Pea
![River Red Gum (1230AD)]()
River Red Gum (1230AD)
![Bermuda Buttercup]()
Bermuda Buttercup
![African Boxthorn]()
African Boxthorn
We drove to the river and crossed the convict bridge on the way to the National Trust site of Central
Greenough on Yamatji Country a preserved 19th-century colonial administrative settlement. Eleven original stone buildings including a gaol, courthouse,
police station, schoolhouse, and two churches have been restored.
![Greenough River]()
Greenough River
![Convict Bridge]()
Convict Bridge
![Convict Bridge 2]()
Convict Bridge 2
![Helmeted Guineafowl]()
Helmeted Guineafowl
![Central Greenough]()
Central Greenough
The former Dominican Convent is a historic 1898 stone building located within the Central
Greenough Historic Settlement on Yamatji Country in Western Australia, roughly 25 km south of
Geraldton. Originally built for Dominican Sisters, it later served as a boys' boarding school and is preserved as part of the region's colonial
heritage.
![Convent 1898]()
Convent 1898
![Convent Interior]()
Convent Interior
St. Peter's Church on Yamatji Country was built in 1908. It replaced an original 1860s building that was destroyed by devastating floods in 1888.
![St Peters Church]()
St Peters Church
![St Peters Church Interior]()
St Peters Church Interior
![St Peters Church Stained Glass]()
St Peters Church Stained Glass
Presbytery built from local stone, reflecting the ecclesiastical and community expansion in the historic
Greenough flatlands during the turn of the 20th century. Built in 1900 home to the local priest for 30 years Monsignor Hawes. Later used as a boarding house for some of the older boys from St Peters School.
Hackett's Cottage built in 1890. Home of Ned and Harriet Hackett. they ran a store, Ned also was a cobbler by trade, a blacksmith, carpenter and undertaker.
![Presbytery & Hackett's Cottage]()
Presbytery & Hackett's Cottage
![Sewing Machine]()
Sewing Machine
St Catherine's Hall built and opened in May 1898 to serve the local community. A popular venue for dances, parties, concerts, political meetings and flower shows.
![St Catherine's Hall]()
St Catherine's Hall
![Central Greenough]()
Central Greenough
St Catherine's Church was the second church built, the first of iron and timber that had been shipped complete with all fittings from England erected in 1892. Due to termite damage it was replaced in 1913 using materials salvaged from the original.
![St Catherine's Church]()
St Catherine's Church
The Leaning Trees are scattered throughout the
Greenough area. They are a bizarre natural phenomenon caused by the airborne salt content blown in with the winds off the Indian Ocean. The tree trunks lie horizontal to the ground and have become somewhat of an icon. Buffeted by strong southerly winds, the leaning trees of
Greenough (Eucalyptus Camaldulensis or Red River gum) have become a popular icon for in the region!
![Leaning Trees]()
Leaning Trees
Greenough Police Station and Lock-up is an 1870
limestone government complex located in the Central
Greenough it housed a combined courtroom, jail cells, police quarters, and a
post office and stable block.
![Police Station & Lock Up]()
Police Station & Lock Up
![Alpacas]()
Alpacas
![Alpacas 2]()
Alpacas 2
The first school building was erected in 1861 in Company Road but was replaced in 1865 by a new building - the Central
Greenough School built by William Trigg.
![School Building]()
School Building
![School Building Interior]()
School Building Interior
Afterwards we drove to
Ellendale Pool and had a picnic lunch before driving to
Mingenew intending to go to Depot
Hill to see more
wildflowers and hopefully some orchids however when we arrived to council had closed it whilst doing roadworks. So we ventured on and found
Mingenew Hill, first recorded as "a remarkable ironstone hill" by the
Gregory brothers in 1846. It was gazetted as a reserve when the Upper Irwin Road Board took office in 1901. Today a
lookout close to the village with marvelous
views and
wildflowers.
![Ellendale Pool]()
Ellendale Pool
![Ellendale Pool 2]()
Ellendale Pool 2
![Mingenew Hill]()
Mingenew Hill
![Mingenew Hill 2]()
Mingenew Hill 2
![Mingenew Hill 3]()
Mingenew Hill 3
![Mingenew Hill 4]()
Mingenew Hill 4
![Mingenew Hill 5]()
Mingenew Hill 5
![Mingenew Hill 6]()
Mingenew Hill 6
The sun set on our last day here in
Geraldton.
![Setting Sun]()
Setting Sun
![Sunset in Geraldton]()
Sunset in Geraldton