Day 80 Greenough

Friday, Aug 21, 2026 at 19:18

Member - Kevin and Lee-Anne

Today we drove to Greenough, a historic 19th-century farming settlement located on the Greenough Flats. Renowned for its remarkably preserved limestone colonial buildings, iconic horizontally-growing leaning trees, and rich local heritage, it operates as an open-air museum managed by the National Trust.

We started at the Greenough Museum & Gardens - This is more than a traditional museum! It is an inter-active museum set in a 19th century homestead surrounded by beautiful gardens. With what could be Australia's oldest leaning gum tree. Dating back to 1862 and built by convicts. From the fates of convicts to the fortunes of entrepreneurs.

















We drove to the river and crossed the convict bridge on the way to the National Trust site of Central Greenough on Yamatji Country a preserved 19th-century colonial administrative settlement. Eleven original stone buildings including a gaol, courthouse, police station, schoolhouse, and two churches have been restored.







The former Dominican Convent is a historic 1898 stone building located within the Central Greenough Historic Settlement on Yamatji Country in Western Australia, roughly 25 km south of Geraldton. Originally built for Dominican Sisters, it later served as a boys' boarding school and is preserved as part of the region's colonial heritage.




St. Peter's Church on Yamatji Country was built in 1908. It replaced an original 1860s building that was destroyed by devastating floods in 1888.





Presbytery built from local stone, reflecting the ecclesiastical and community expansion in the historic Greenough flatlands during the turn of the 20th century. Built in 1900 home to the local priest for 30 years Monsignor Hawes. Later used as a boarding house for some of the older boys from St Peters School.
Hackett's Cottage built in 1890. Home of Ned and Harriet Hackett. they ran a store, Ned also was a cobbler by trade, a blacksmith, carpenter and undertaker.




St Catherine's Hall built and opened in May 1898 to serve the local community. A popular venue for dances, parties, concerts, political meetings and flower shows.




St Catherine's Church was the second church built, the first of iron and timber that had been shipped complete with all fittings from England erected in 1892. Due to termite damage it was replaced in 1913 using materials salvaged from the original.



The Leaning Trees are scattered throughout the Greenough area. They are a bizarre natural phenomenon caused by the airborne salt content blown in with the winds off the Indian Ocean. The tree trunks lie horizontal to the ground and have become somewhat of an icon. Buffeted by strong southerly winds, the leaning trees of Greenough (Eucalyptus Camaldulensis or Red River gum) have become a popular icon for in the region!



Greenough Police Station and Lock-up is an 1870 limestone government complex located in the Central Greenough it housed a combined courtroom, jail cells, police quarters, and a post office and stable block.





The first school building was erected in 1861 in Company Road but was replaced in 1865 by a new building - the Central Greenough School built by William Trigg.




Afterwards we drove to Ellendale Pool and had a picnic lunch before driving to Mingenew intending to go to Depot Hill to see more wildflowers and hopefully some orchids however when we arrived to council had closed it whilst doing roadworks. So we ventured on and found Mingenew Hill, first recorded as "a remarkable ironstone hill" by the Gregory brothers in 1846. It was gazetted as a reserve when the Upper Irwin Road Board took office in 1901. Today a lookout close to the village with marvelous views and wildflowers.










The sun set on our last day here in Geraldton.





Tags

BlogID: 7961
Views: 81

Comments & Reviews

Post a Comment
Loading...
Blog Index

Sponsored Links

Popular Products (9)